Writing a blog has its benefits. For a writer who’s used to editors dictating what prints and what gets deleted, it’s freeing to be able to decide your own fate. You get an audience, and increasingly people are getting book deals from their blogs. (That can go either way – sometimes what’s funny on the screen is not funny on the page.)

Obviously things in life come in pairs – so there’s a downside to blogging too. This is the teaching of Swami Vivekananda, a lecturer from the late 1800’s who I greatly admire. Hence, the drawbacks – anyone can read your blog. ANYONE.

So, my dad read my blog.

My blog is all about being gay, and I’ve only recently come out to my parents, and they’re not completely accepting yet. So him reading my fierce blog about how awesome it is to love girls was kind of frightening. I got this “comment” on my blog that said “cool blog – Dad” and I sort of freaked for a minute. I didn’t know what to do. Call him? Explain myself? Pretend it’s not really my blog? It took all of three minutes after seeing this comment in my email for me to receive a lengthier email response from him.

The essence of this response was “We love that you are so proud, and we are so proud of you too!”

It’s weird coming out on the internet. This is why I wanted to do it – there’s no unique way to come out anymore. It’s like, the world understands that there’s this “coming out process” and that it’s “Oh, so painful! Pitiful!” etc. etc. Well, if there’s anything I want in life it’s not to be pitiful and full of pain, and also not to be ordinary. This is why I wanted to blog about my “coming out process.” It’s a work in progress.

I wanted to come out in a very strong way, and to chronicle it. And the journal of yesteryear is the blog of today. My mom won’t be reading my little flowery journal from 6th grade anymore – she’ll Google my name and come up with “Orange Coat Girl” (this is also how she got wind of a vaguely risque-in-a-Miley-Cyrus-way photo shoot that I did with an ex-boyfriend, the photos were posted on Facebook, and my dad joined Facebook).

The only appropriate response to my dad’s email of approval was tears, excitement, relief, overarching joy. I called all my friends. I said “they’re ready!” My parents are finally going to be able to get to know all of me.

The reason for this blog post? It opens up a new door. I haven’t written a post in a while, but that’s not for lack of contemplation. I didn’t have a lot of time, but I also didn’t have a lot to say. There were a lot of thoughts, but none appropriate for the whole world to see, until now.

You know how your parents tell you they will always love you no matter what? No kid really believes that. But now, I do.

